State of South Carolina State Ethics Commission

SCOTT E. FRICK, CHAIRMAN F. XAVIER STARKES, VICE **CHAIRMAN BRYANT S. CALDWELL AJ HOLLOWAY**



BRANDOLYN THOMAS PINKSTON MARY HUNTER B. TOMLINSON **NEAL D. TRUSLOW MATTHEW N. TYLER**

COLUMBIA, S.C. 29210

MEGHAN WALKER DAYSON **EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR**

MINUTES COMMISSION MEETING OPEN SESSION September 19, 2024

The September 19, 2024, meeting was called to order at 9:34 a.m. by Chairman Scott E. Frick at the State Ethics Commission's Hearing Room located at 201 Executive Center Drive, Suite 150, Columbia, South Carolina. Chairman Scott E. Frick, Vice Chairman F. Xavier Starkes, Commissioner Mary Hunter B. Tomlinson, and Commissioner Neal D. Truslow were in attendance. Commissioner Bryant Caldwell, Commissioner Brandolyn T. Pinkston, and Commissioner Matthew N. Tyler appeared via Zoom call. Commissioner AJ Holloway was not present.

Staff present: Meghan Walker Dayson, Ami Franklin, Courtney Laster, Renique Brabham, Kevin Hinson, Reggie Gaymon, James Bagnall, W.B. White, Jr., Rachael O'Bryan, and Erin Caughman were in attendance.

Chairman Frick declared a quorum present. Director Dayson noted for the record that the news media was duly notified.

MINUTES

Chairman Frick called for the approval of the July 18, 2024 minutes. Chairman Frick asked for any discussion. A motion was made by Commissioner Truslow, seconded by Commissioner Starkes, to accept the minutes from the July 18, 2024 Commission meeting. The motion carried with a 7 - 0 vote.

OFFICE OPERATIONS

Director Dayson presented the Budget, Compliance Report, and Pending and Paid Orders Report for information.

APPEALS

C2021-0024 Jeremy Clark Wanda Stringfellow

Attorney Laster informed Respondent had withdrawn her appeal on September 18, 2024 and that there was no further action to be taken.

C2022-060 State Ethics Commission vs. William C. Smith – Request for Continuance

Attorney Brabham informed the Commission that Respondent's attorney, Maureen T. Coffey, had filed a Second Motion for Continue for Respondent's Appellate Hearing and that staff had no objection to the Motion. The continuance was granted by Chairman Frick.

Director Dayson asked that the election of Commission officers be held after executive session. There was no objection.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chairman Frick asked for further discussion or a motion to go into Executive Session to hear probable cause matters. A motion was made by Commissioner Truslow, seconded by Commissioners Pinkston and Starkes, to go into executive session to hear probable cause matters. The motion carried with a 7-0 vote.

RETURN FROM EXECUTIVE SESSION

The Commissioners returned from Executive Session at 11:32 a.m.

ELECTION OF COMMISSION OFFICERS

Chairman Frick called for the election of Commission officers. During discussion as to who would be nominated as Chairman and Vice-Chairman, the question of who would be eligible to serve as officers due to some Commissioners service terms expiring, and if being selected as an officer would conflict with Commission policy. Director Walker suggested to table the vote, and that the Commissioners consider if the policy needs to be amended at the next full Commission meeting. A motion was made by Commissioner Starkes, seconded by Commissioner Truslow, to table the vote on Commission officers. The motion carried with a 7-0 vote.

ADJOURNMENT

Chairman Frick asked for further discussion or a motion to adjourn. There being no further discussion, a motion was made by Commissioner Truslow, seconded by Commissioner Tomlinson, to adjourn at 11:51 a.m. The motion carried with a 7-0 vote.

Page 3 of 3 Open Session September 19, 2024

Respectfully Submitted,

Rachael O'Bryan
Rachael O'Bryan