# State of South Carolina State Ethics Commission

SCOTT E. FRICK, CHAIRMAN F. XAVIER STARKES, VICE CHAIRMAN BRYANT S. CALDWELL AJ HOLLOWAY



BRANDOLYN THOMAS PINKSTON MARY HUNTER B. TOMLINSON NEAL D. TRUSLOW MATTHEW N. TYLER

MEGHAN WALKER DAYSON EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

MINUTES
COMMISSION MEETING
OPEN SESSION
November 16, 2023

The November 16, 2023, meeting was called to order at 9:35 a.m. by Chairman Scott Frick at the State Ethics Commission's Hearing Room located at 201 Executive Center Drive, Suite 150, Columbia, South Carolina. Chairman Scott E. Frick, Vice Chairman F. Xavier Starkes, Commissioner Mary Hunter B. Tomlinson, Neal D. Truslow, and Commissioner Matthew N. Tyler were in attendance. Commissioner AJ Holloway and Commissioner Brandolyn T. Pinkston appeared via Zoom call. Commissioner Bryant Caldwell was not present.

<u>Staff present</u>: Meghan Walker Dayson, Ami Franklin, Courtney Laster, Ryanne Caldwell, Kevin Hinson, Reggie Gaymon, James Bagnall, W.B. White, Jr., Thomas Yeager, Rachael O'Bryan, and Erin Caughman were in attendance.

Chairman Frick declared a quorum present. Director Dayson noted for the record that the news media was duly notified.

# **MINUTES**

Chairman Frick called for the approval of the September 21, 2023 minutes. Chairman Frick asked for any discussion. A motion was made by Commissioner Starkes, seconded by Commissioner Truslow, to accept the minutes from the September 21, 2023 Commission meeting. The motion carried with a 7-0 vote.

### **OFFICE OPERATIONS**

Director Dayson presented the Budget, Compliance Report, and Pending and Paid Orders Report for information.

#### **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Chairman Frick asked for further discussion or a motion to go into Executive Session to hear probable cause matters and receive legal advice. A motion was made by Commissioner Pinkston, seconded by Commissioner Tyler to go into executive session to hear probable cause matters and receive legal advice. The motion carried with a 7-0 vote.

## **RETURN FROM EXECUTIVE SESSION**

The Commissioners returned from Executive Session at 12:17 p.m. Chairman Frick stated that no votes were taken in Executive Session other than those allowed by law.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

Chairman Frick asked for further discussion or a motion to adjourn. There being no further discussion, a motion was made by Commissioner Truslow, seconded by Commissioners Starkes and Tyler, to adjourn at 12:17 p.m. The motion carried with a 7-0 vote.

Respectfully Submitted,

Rachael O'Bryan
Rachael O'Bryan