# State of South Carolina State Ethics Commission

SCOTT E. FRICK, CHAIRMAN F. XAVIER STARKES, VICE CHAIRMAN BRYANT S. CALDWELL AJ HOLLOWAY



BRANDOLYN THOMAS PINKSTON MARY HUNTER B. TOMLINSON NEAL D. TRUSLOW MATTHEW N. TYLER

201 EXECUTIVE CENTER DRIVE, SUITE 150 COLUMBIA, S.C. 29210

MEGHAN WALKER DAYSON EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

MINUTES
COMMISSION MEETING
OPEN SESSION
May 18, 2023

The May 18, 2023, meeting was called to order at 9:33 a.m. by Chairman Scott Frick at the State Ethics Commission's Hearing Room located at 201 Executive Center Drive, Suite 150, Columbia, South Carolina. Chairman Scott E. Frick, Vice Chairman F. Xavier Starkes, and Commissioner Matthew N. Tyler were in attendance. Commissioner AJ Holloway, Commissioner Brandolyn T. Pinkston, Commissioner Mary B. Hunter Tomlinson, and Commissioner Bryant S. Caldwell appeared via Zoom call. Commissioner Neal D. Truslow was absent from the meeting.

<u>Staff present</u>: Meghan Walker Dayson, Ami Franklin, Courtney Laster, Ryanne Caldwell, Kevin Hinson, Reggie Gaymon, James Bagnall, and Rachael O'Bryan were in attendance. Karen A. Wiggins joined via Zoom call.

Chairman Frick declared a quorum present. Director Walker noted for the record that the news media was duly notified.

# **MINUTES**

Chairman Frick called for the approval of the March 16, 2023 minutes. Chairman Frick asked for any discussion. A motion was made by Commissioner Starkes, seconded by Commissioner Tyler, to accept the minutes from the March 16, 2023 Commission meeting. The motion carried with a 7-0 vote.

### **APPEALS**

### COMMISSIONER SCOTT E. FRICK PRESIDING

C2021-120 – State Ethics Commission vs. Adam Reese

Commission General Counsel, Courtney Laster, informed the Commission that Commission staff had spoken with Respondent's recently obtained counsel and would be agreeable with vacating the Decision and Order rendered in C2021-120 and rescheduling the matter with Commission approval due to Respondent not receiving proper notice of the previous hearing. A vote was taken to vacate the original Decision and Order, which passed with a 4-0 vote.

Commissioner Brandolyn T. Pinkston, Commissioner Matthew N. Tyler, and Commissioner A.J. Holloway recused from this matter, having served on the original Hearing Panel.

# **OFFICE OPERATIONS**

Director Dayson presented the Budget, Compliance Report, and Pending and Paid Orders Report for information. Commissioner Frick had a question about change in the number of reports filed. Director Dayson stated last year was an election year, which was likely the reason for increased filings and that the change in the filing portal may have inflated the number of filings when converted. Commission Starkes had a question about what the sale of documents was, and Director Dayson informed him it was the bounded Code of Laws books the Commission publishes.

### **NEW BUSINESS**

There was none.

# **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Chairman Frick asked for further discussion or a motion to go into Executive Session to hear probable cause matters. A motion was made by Commissioner Tyler, seconded by Commissioner Starkes. The motion carried with a 7-0 vote.

# **RETURN FROM EXECUTIVE SESSION**

The Commissioners returned from Executive Session at 11:40 a.m.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

Chairman Frick asked for further discussion or a motion to adjourn. There being no further discussion, a motion was made by Commissioner Starkes, seconded by Commissioner Tyler, to adjourn at 11:41 a.m. The motion carried with a 7-0 vote.

Respectfully Submitted,

Rachael O'Bryan

Rachael O'Bryan