State of South Carolina State Ethics Commission

SCOTT E. FRICK, CHAIRMAN F. XAVIER STARKES, VICE **CHAIRMAN BRYANT S. CALDWELL AJ HOLLOWAY**



BRANDOLYN THOMAS PINKSTON MARY HUNTER B. TOMLINSON **NEAL D. TRUSLOW MATTHEW N. TYLER**

201 EXECUTIVE CENTER DRIVE, SUITE **COLUMBIA, S.C. 29210**

> MEGHAN WALKER DAYSON **EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR**

MINUTES COMMISSION MEETING OPEN SESSION August 17, 2023

The August 17, 2023, meeting was called to order at 9:31 a.m. by Chairman Scott Frick at the State Ethics Commission's Hearing Room located at 201 Executive Center Drive, Suite 150, Columbia, South Carolina. Commissioner Neal D. Truslow was in attendance. Chairman Scott Frick, Vice Chairman F. Xavier Starkes, Commissioner Mary Hunter B. Tomlinson, Commissioner AJ Holloway, Commissioner Brandolyn T. Pinkston, Commission Matthew N. Tyler, and Commissioner Bryant S. Caldwell appeared via Zoom call.

Staff present: Meghan Walker Dayson, Ami Franklin, Courtney Laster, Ryanne Caldwell, Kevin Hinson, Reggie Gaymon, W.B. White, Jr., Thomas Yeager, and Rachael O'Bryan were in attendance. Also present via Zoom call was Barbra Seymour.

Chairman Frick declared a quorum present. Director Dayson noted for the record that the news media was duly notified.

DECLARATORY RULING UNDER S.C. CODE 1-23-150

Director Dayson presented a Declaratory Ruling related to discovery and subpoena issuance during the Commission's investigative process for the Commission's consideration. Director Dayson informed the Commission that staff and Commission's retained counsel, Barbara Seymour, believe it may be helpful to change the wording on page 12 on point three for clarity. Chairman Frick asked for further discussion. There being no further discussion, a motion was made by Commissioner Tyler, seconded by Commissioner Pinkston, to accept the Declaratory Ruling with the amendment as stated by staff. The motion carried with an 8-0 vote.

ADJOURNMENT

Chairman Frick asked for further discussion or a motion to adjourn. There being no further discussion, a motion was made by Commissioner Tyler, seconded by Commissioner Truslow, to adjourn at 9:36 a.m. The motion carried with an 8-0 vote.

Respectfully Submitted,

Rachael O'Bryan Rachael O'Bryan