State of South Carolina State Ethics Commission

SCOTT E. FRICK, CHAIRMAN F. XAVIER STARKES, VICE CHAIRMAN BRYANT S. CALDWELL AJ HOLLOWAY



BRANDOLYN THOMAS PINKSTON MARY HUNTER B. TOMLINSON NEAL D. TRUSLOW MATTHEW N. TYLER

201 EXECUTIVE CENTER DRIVE, SUITE 150 COLUMBIA, S.C. 29210

MEGHAN WALKER DAYSON EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

MINUTES SPECIAL CALLED COMMISSION MEETING OPEN SESSION August 10, 2023

The August 10, 2023, special called meeting was called to order at 1:00 p.m. by Chairman Scott Frick at the State Ethics Commission's Hearing Room located at 201 Executive Center Drive, Suite 150, Columbia, South Carolina. Chairman Scott Frick, Vice Chairman F. Xavier Starkes, Commissioner Neal D. Truslow, Commissioner Mary Hunter B. Tomlinson, Commissioner AJ Holloway, Commissioner Brandolyn T. Pinkston, Commission Matthew N. Tyler, and Commissioner Bryant S. Caldwell appeared via Zoom call.

Staff present: Meghan Walker Dayson, Courtney Laster, Ami Franklin.

Chairman Frick declared a quorum present. Director Dayson noted for the record that the news media was duly notified.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chairman Frick asked for further discussion or a motion to go into Executive Session to receive legal advice regarding potential litigation related to matters under investigation. A motion was made by Commissioner Starkes, seconded by Commissioner Tyler. The motion carried with an 8-0 vote.

RETURN FROM EXECUTIVE SESSION

The Commissioners returned from Executive Session at 2:17 p.m. Chairman Frick stated no votes were taken in executive session.

ADJOURNMENT

Chairman Frick asked for further discussion or a motion to adjourn. There being no further discussion, a motion was made by Commissioner Tomlinson, seconded by Commissioners Starkes and Truslow to adjourn at 2:19 p.m. The motion carried with an 8-0 vote.

Respectfully Submitted,

Rachael O'Bryan
Rachael O'Bryan