## **MINUTES**

# OPEN SESSION COMMISSION MEETING

# May 18, 2005

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Gregory P. Harris at 9:30 a.m. Other members present were Vice Chairman Kenneth C. Krawcheck, Mr. Pete G. Diamaduros, Mr. Flynn T. Harrell, Mr. Edward E. Duryea, Mr. Marvin D. Infinger, Mr. John L. Cannon and Mrs. Priscilla L. Tanner.

### Also present:

Mr. Herbert R. Hayden, Jr., Executive Director

Ms. Cathy L. Hazelwood, Assistant Director/General Counsel

Mr. Donald M. Lundgren, Investigator

Ms. Regina A. Washington, Administrative Assistant

Mr. David T. Boyles

Mr. Jeff Anderson

Mr. John Carrigg

Mr. Tommy Sinclair

Mr. Arnold Price

Mr. Carl N. Alston

Mr. J. Madison Dye

Mr. Mitchell Willoughby

Mr. David L. Green

Mr. Garland E. Weaver

Mr. J. V. White

Mr. Randolph E. Willis

Mrs. Emily F. Willis

Mrs. Sherry Eaddy

Mr. Ellis Buyon

Mrs. Julia R. Cook

Mrs. Blossom Generette

Mrs. Eleanor Weaver

Mrs. Thelma Generette

Mrs. Darlene Miller

Mrs. Berty Riley

Mr. Samuel Gregory

Mr. Harris called the meeting to order.

#### **MINUTES**

Mr. Cannon made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Tanner to approve the open and executive session minutes, motion carried.

### **OFFICE OPERATIONS**

#### **COMPLIANCE REPORTS**

Mr. Hayden presented the compliance reports for March and April 2005 as information only.

### **BUDGET FY04 and FY05**

Mr. Hayden presented the budget information as information only.

## **OTHER MATTERS**

Appeals:

C2004-106 State Ethics Commission vs. Rujon G. Williams This matter was continued until the July meeting.

C2004-104 State Ethics Commission vs. David T. Boyles

Mr. Duryea, Mr. Krawcheck and Mr. Infinger did not participate in the discussion. Mrs. Tanner made a motion, seconded by Mr. Diamaduros to accept the Respondent's appeal and issue a written reprimand and no fine, motion carried.

#### DISCUSSION

FEC's "best efforts"

This discussion was continued until the July meeting.

## **ADVISORY OPINIONS**

AO2002-012

Mr. Mitchell Willoughby presented a request to the Commission to amend this opinion to conform with AO94-016 to allow solicitation of National Guard members who are not employees of the Adjutant General's office. The Commission voted to affirm the restrictions included in AO2002-012 and not make any changes.

# **ADVISORY OPINIONS, cont.**

AO2005-003

Mr. Anderson and Mr. Carrigg presented this opinion to the Commission. Mr. Infinger made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Tanner to accept the opinion that council actions to vote are appropriate, motion carried.

### **ELECTION OF OFFICERS**

Mr. Harrell made a motion, seconded by Mr. Diamaduros to elect Vice Chairman, Kenneth C. Krawcheck as Chairman, motion carried.

Mr. Krawcheck made a motion, seconded by Mr. Infinger to elect Edward E. Duryea as Vice Chairman, motion carried.

## **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

A motion was made by Mr. Krawcheck to go into Executive Session, seconded by Mr. Diamaduros, motion carried.

A motion was made by Mr. Harrell to return to open session, seconded by Mr. Krawcheck, motion carried

Upon return to open session, Mr. Harrell made a motion, to adopt and ratify actions taken in Executive Session, motion carried.

Respectfully Submitted,

Regina A. Washington Administrative Assistant

/raw